Unmasking a Man

Masks1

“I’ve never been the kind to ever let my feelings show
And I thought that bein’ strong meant never losin’ your self-control”
– Keith Urban “Tonight I Wanna Cry” –

I have resisted this ugly topic for a couple of weeks now.  I’ve gone from “eh just let me get my thoughts down and it’ll probably be one I never publish,” to “I need to get this post perfect.  It’s important, for personal reasons, as well as speaking up for men everywhere.”

This post is a jumble of thoughts and a collection of opinions spread across two weeks time.  Thanks for bearing with me this far.

Soft. Pansy. Unmanly. Grow a pair. Weak. Those are just some things that are easily told to a guy for shedding a tear and exposing his softer side. Heaven forbid he not be made of stone, and care.

With that said, I’ll just admit it right now…  I AM a typical male when I’m honest about the topic of expressing emotions as a man.  I’m entirely capable of expressing myself if….. I want to.  Perhaps it’s the Scorpio in me. Maybe I’m selective, or I am not in a position to express myself freely, or maybe it’s the fact that I simply just don’t want to lose the respect I have earned and the credibility of being a dependable man. 

Masks2

So you know what us guys do? We wear a mask until we feel in control again.  This doesn’t mean that guys only wear masks to hide from crying, but it does mean that they are keeping some sort of emotion under wraps.  Wearing a mask all of the time can get heavy.  Carrying around suitcases of pain, anger and doubt eventually wears you out.  “Be strong… Don’t show your anguish.  Smile to complete the facade.”

Behind that mask though is a man burying sorrows.  He may be burying them on top of things already buried, creating a stockpile of nothing but suffering and tormenting demons.

It actually shows strength gentlemen, to allow the invisible wall to come down temporarily, and let that vulnerability be exposed for a time. It takes more courage to allow it to happen with dignity than to continue to allow pain to fester inside until it’s plagued with the disease of bitterness.

“We all wear masks, and the time comes when we cannot remove them without removing some of our own skin.”
– André Berthiaume –

 Masks3


(Body)
Shape – Custom
Skin – Redgrave Chris DeepTan
Hands – SLink Male Hands (AvEnhance) – Relax
Hair – Exile – High & Dry
Eyes – IKON Promise Eyes – Fjord

(Clothes and Accessories)
Suit – Hoorenbeek Mesh Fitted Suit w/ plain color shirt and tie
Shoes – Hoorenbeek Mesh Allen Shoes – Black
Ring – [ Kunst ] Magnus Ring
Lip Ring – RealEvil Industries – Piercing Lip B
Mask – daVal Masks – Quilt Blue

Poses:
Tabou Irresistible – Thinker (sitting pose)
KaTink – Portia 2 Editorial Pose
HISpose – HISwindowPAIN – Pose 2

Location: Bellefleurs – The House of Sakura

SPECIAL THANKS to the Owner and Residents of Bellefleurs – The House of Sakura.  Amazing, beautiful sim and helpful, friendly and intriguing staff.  Be sure to visit their sim and join the subscriber for information of their events such as Sundays @ 7:30pmSLT in the Salon, Mondays @ 8:30pmSLT En Garde, Thursdays @ 8:00pmSLT Dance (This week is Steampunk themed).

Leave a Reply

